About Us

The Textile Researcher Association of Nigeria (TRAN) is a non-profit, professional organization with members from all walks of life, including academia, and business communities. The association’s major focus is on research and development, as well as manpower training for Textile and Allied industries. TRAN organizes annual international conferences and AGM to discuss current research and innovation in Textile Science and Technology as well as promoting collaboration between academia and the industry.

Our Brief History

Very senior textile colleagues (late and living) who returned to the country after completing their course of study in Europe between mid-seventies to early eighties saw the need to have an indigenous textile professional body. But many attempts over several years yielded no positive results. A renewed effort started in 2004 when a three-man registration committee was inaugurated at the Kaduna Polytechnic to reach out to other interested people in Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and Yaba College of Technology, Lagos. After three years of pain staking efforts and many representations to the Corporate Affairs Commission, the Association of Textile Technologists of Nigeria (ATTN) was formally registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission as an indigenous textile professional body in March, 2007.

The Association has been well received and accepted by a wide spectrum of stakeholders in the industry. This has necessitated the resolution to change the name of the Association to ‘Textile Researchers Association of Nigeria (TRAN)’ in the year 2016 which is more embracing to accommodate other professionals in the field e.g. Scientists, Engineers, Artists, Fashion, etc to fully and freely belong.

One of the major objectives of the Association is to advance the general interest of the textile industry more particularly in relation to the acquisition and application of scientific and technological knowledge.

The registered Trustees of the Association are:

1. Professor Abiodun Olufemi Noah (Late)
2. Professor Peter Nkeonye
3. Professor Olufemi Kashim Sunmonu
4. Dr. Ebenezer Okonkwo
5. Mr. Paul Aliyu Gana
6. Mr. Gimba Ndandok
7. Mr. Jacob Olarewaju
8. Dr. Philip Biodun Kayode
9. Dr. Frank Biotidara

Since registration and inauguration in 2007, the Association has also participated and made useful contributions at several forums organized by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and major stakeholders towards ensuring a healthy and prosperous textile and allied industry.

Fellows of the Association are: Prof. Ebenezer M. Okonkwo, Deacon JP Olarewaju and Malam Saidu Dattijo Adhama, Prof. O. K. Sunmonu, Dr. H.D. Ibrahim, Comrade Issa Aremu and Dr. Mrs. M. K. Ladipo.